Verse

But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God, who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God.
John 1:12-13

(7/25/11-7/31/11)

Verse Meditation

There are two aspects of working going on in this verse. Human belief and being born of God, and the promise of becoming a child of God. The verse doesn’t say that anyone will believe. Nor does it say what we have the ability to believe. It just says that those that do receive Jesus, believe in His name, he gives the right to become a child of God. It is Jesus that gives the right to become a child of God. It isn’t the person doing the believing that gives the right to become a child of God, but Jesus the true light. The context of the verse is Jesus being the true light from God and peoples rejection or receiving of Him. His own rejected him (v11), but some believed. Those who believed who He was, He gave the right to be God’s children. They were born from the will of God. It wasn’t of blood, flesh or the will of man which is natural birth, but from the will of God, spiritual birth. My faith in Jesus, believing in His name gave me the right to be a child of God, born of the will of God. This verse is interesting. If my belief caused God to act, then it was ultimately my will that caused me to be born, because God would be reacting to me, yet, I have to believe to get the right to become a child of God. My belief and God’s willing act of birth must be simultaneous. Why? Because if my belief makes me a child, but being a child comes as a result of being born of the will of God, they must be simultaneous, but maybe not. It says nothing of my faith being an act of my will. faith required to acquire the right to be come child of God. Being born of the will of God required for becoming a child of God. Both faith and being born are required, yet only “the will” is mention from one side and that is God’s. It’s like the faith and being born overlap. Faith must be from the will of God.

Prayer

Father, meditating on this verse has given me great insight. Thinking about this verse shows me that both faith and being born of the will of God are required to become a child of God. Help me both to learn this verse and how to apply it to my life, as well as be able to use it to edify others. Let me do this for Your glory and my good and the good of others.
In Jesus Name I ask, Amen.

FighterVerses.com Blog Posts for This Verse

Child of God—Anyone, But Not in Any Way
Why Do We Read the Bible?

