What I didn’t explain in the last Fighter Verse post was the organization. The fighter verses have five sets with fifty-two verses each, one for each week of the year. That explains the numbers in the post title. The one stands for set 1 and the two stands for which verse in the set I am on. (Week 2: 7/18/11-7/24/11)

Verse

…Israel, what does the LORD your God require of you, but to fear the LORD your God, to walk in all his ways, to love him, to serve the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul, and to keep the commandments and statutes of the LORD, which I am commanding you today for your good?
Deuteronomy 10:12-13

Verse Meditation:

The organization of the verse is a what more is required of you? God is saying, israel this is all I’m asking you to do: fear me, walk in my ways, love me, serve me from the inside, and keep my commandments. Then he finishes by saying, they are for your good. All this that I’ve commanded are for your good. I’m not asking you to do something that isnt for your good. Hey Israel I’m seeking your good. Why does God have to remind them of that? By nature the heart hates commandments and God, authority. By nature Israel couldn’t accomplish what God was asking. Their hearts were in rebellion. The thing is no one can. I can’t. Everyday I fail. I don’t have to seek God’s approval because I have it in Christ. Jesus accomplished following the commandments, loving God, serving Him, and fearing Him perfectly. Do I not have to follow God’s commandments then? Well I should because God only asks what’s for my good. It doesn’t earn God’s approval for me, I already have it in Christ. But I should still do what He asks of me because they are for my good. For My Good! So I shall fear Him, follow His ways, love Him and serve Him by His grace and with His help.

FighterVerses.com Blog Posts for This Verse

For Our Good (Deuteronomy 10:12-13)
Memory Device for Deuteronomy 10:12-13

