This is my first actual post. It took a while because I’ve been busy.

There have been a few things that have inspired my blog. The two with the most impact where Desiring God and Sovereign Grace Ministries. But for this post, I’m going to write about how I got inspired by Desiring God.

So I had been reading Books by John Piper. (Desiring God is his Ministry.) And on the front of His book Desiring God was “Meditations of a Christian Hedonist.” I too want be a Christian Hedonist, so I tried to start a blog under the title “The Meditations of a Christian Hedonist.” I never got started and I think God not letting it start was a good thing. It would have been a narrow blog about just my mediations and it had the name of the subtitle of John Piper’s book. So it was copyright infringing so I’m glad it never started. And with this blog I can post more than just my mediations. I can write about Ministries, Books, Authors, Christian News and a whole slew of things.

So, how did Desiring God inspire my blog. Well, if you read the subtitle of my blog, “Hedonistically Serving Christ Jesus,” it relates to Desiring God in that there focus is to Glorify God in spreading a passion for people to Glorify God by finding Joy in Him. Not God’s gift’s, but God. I believe that belief it biblical. There mission statement is, “Everything we do aims to spread a passion for the supremacy of God in all things for the joy of all peoples through Jesus Christ.” A statement John Piper says he believes in and stands behind is “God is most glorified in me when I am most satisfied in Him.”

They have spread into me to want to find Joy in God. Salvation isn’t about just going to heaven or not feeling guilty anymore. Jesus died to bring us to Himself, that we might find great Joy in Him and in His Glory. I don’t want to find Joy in my sin anymore. I want to find Joy in Christ Jesus.

This is how Desiring God has inspired my Blog. I say check out their Ministry Website. You can find all kinds of good resources, books, articles and even a blog. Click here to go to there About Us page. Don’t worry, all links open up in a new window.

Here is a few things to check out at Desiring God:

So I’ll close in suggesting you to check out Desiring God, one of the ministries that inspired me.

